V for Vendetta: “V and LGBTT Community Vs. ExMinistries” in Defense of the “It gets better Project”

Vendetta: 2. any prolonged and bitter feud, rivalry, contention, or the like: a political vendetta.
WARNING: This post is long but well worth the read. I do not expect my readers to share my faith but since this post is in response to a Church and in Defense of my own Beliefs as to what a Christian actually is, I do quote the Bible. I mean no offense. Please feel free to link to this page in your Livejournal’s, Blogs, forums, etc.

Good Morning L.G.B.T.T.Q.Q(Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, Transsexual, Transgender, Queer and Questioning) individuals,
In order for you to understand this post I must first offer you a little back ground story. Last night I was feeling pretty down due to some emotional Drama that we experience once in a while in our lives. I really had no plans to make a post last night, but then I stumbled upon something that shocked me.
As you may or may not know, WordPress allows you to use “Tag Searches” in order to find articles that you’re truly interested in. Typically I steer clear of any tags that may lead me to blogs of hatred and intolerance. However I came across this post yesterday by “ExMinistries”. It was tagged for ‘LGBT, Gays Gone Wild and Gay and Lesbianism’. So to me, this was blatantly meant to fall on our door step, much like someone spray painting hate speech across our walls and garage doors.
I read it once and in sheer disbelief of what I was reading, read it again 4 times. I then read over each and every response. Then, as any good researcher, I spent a great deal of time going over past post and reading up on this organization. Before I get started, if you didn’t read the first hyperlink above, I ask you take a moment a read what they wrote here. Did you read it? Good. Lets get started. Beware, this post is rather long but I promise you, well worth your time. My dissection of his post is written in Purple.
The Following is by Pastor G. Craige Lewis, a supposed follower of my Lord Jesus Christ. This is the same Jesus Christ that spoke of love, acceptance, not passing judgement for that is not the duty of man and love everyone regardless of what you may believe to be their “sins”. The same Jesus Christ who spoke and walked with Tax Collectors and Prostitutes yet did not publicly humiliate them or persecute them.
This groups assault is mainly against the “It gets Better Project” Which is directed to prevent suicide of Gay and Trans students due to harsh and unrelenting Bullying.

“It doesn’t get better Dan.  You will continue to feel depressed because you are a man pretending to be something else.”

Now this phrase confuses me. I have watched Dan’s Message a dozen times at least and I fail to see what exactly he is pretending to be. Is he pretending to be gay? Is he pretending to not be a real man (Whatever that is)? I don’t understand this comment. It seems he’s is implying that Dan is depressed when in fact in the video, in the present he seems pretty happy. He does speak of how bad High School was, but out side of that, I don’t get it.

“You will continue to contract STD”s and possibly AIDS will be one of them.”

Ah, so now we see what a “man” is. A man is apparently someone who cannot attract STD’s or possible Aids. That’s only for gay me-..wait, not men…err boys?. Who knew Magic Johnson was gay….go figure. In a Classic game of “Gotcha”, he is telling half truths. Read the following:

March 12, 2010 4:00 PM: At the National STD Prevention Conference on Wednesday, the CDC (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention) released some astonishing data regarding rates of infection among MSM (Men who have Sex with Men). Religious

The data indicate that rates of HIV infection among gay men and other men who have sex with men (MSM) are more than 44 times higher than rates among heterosexual men and more than 40 times higher than women. Rates of syphilis, an STD that can facilitate HIV infection and, if left untreated, may lead to sight loss and severe damage to the nervous system, are reported to be more than 46 times higher among gay men and other MSM than among heterosexual men and more than 71 times higher than among women. Disturbing statistics indeed. But for all this darkness, there’s a light on the horizon:

While the heavy toll of HIV and syphilis among gay and bisexual men has been long recognized, this analysis shows just how stark the health disparities are between this and other populations,” said Kevin Fenton, M.D., director of CDC’s National Center for HIV/AIDS, Viral Hepatitis, STD, and TB Prevention. “It is clear that we will not be able to stop the U.S. HIV epidemic until every affected community, along with health officials nationwide, prioritize the needs of gay and bisexual men with HIV prevention efforts. (emphasis mine)

Listen up: “Prioritize the needs of gay and bisexual men with HIV prevention efforts.” That means at the head of the line, the top of the list, etc. That means that they are publicly saying that what has been done in the past to target MSM is not working. To my knowledge this has never been said before by the CDC. – THis reporting was done by D. Gregory Smith of the Bilerico Project.

So let me get this straight. The CDC admits that what they have done in the past is not working. If we turn back the clock, many STD’s were decimating the Heterosexual population. It wasn’t until much later that they were able to figure out a way to lower those figures, but guess what?! Most STD figures among Heterosexual people are going back UP, not down. According to our good Pastor, simply because Dan is gay he will continue to contract STD’s(A rather bold assumption that he has any at all).

Though Mr. Lewis doesn’t come right out and say it, I know that many people believe that these stats are high because of the “Unnatural way” that Gay men and Women (Including Trans) Have sex. Again, this is an assumption. Not every Gay person engages in Sodomy. Some do.

“The case was Lawrence v Texas, 539 U.S. 558 (2003),[1] that actually lifted the ban. It is a landmark United States Supreme Court case.In the 6-3 ruling, the justices struck down the sodomy law in Texas. The court had previously addressed the same issue in 1986 in Bowers v. Hardwick, where it upheld a challenged Georgia statute, not finding a constitutional protection of sexual privacy. Lawrence explicitly overruled Bowers, holding that it had viewed the liberty interest too narrowly. The majority held that intimate consensual sexual conduct was part of the liberty protected by substantive due process under the Fourteenth Amendment.”

In other words, stay out of our bedrooms. We don’t look in yours, so stay out of ours. Frankly, if Mr. Lewis believes that some Heterosexual people don’t engage in Sodomy or Felicio, he is simply blind to world. Like our community, SOME engage. Some don’t.

“You will continue to feel alone because God created a woman to help you emotionally, not a man.”

Clearly this guy doesn’t know many gay couples, Nor does he seem to know what it truly means to be persecuted. The L.G.B.T.T.Q.Q (I added an extra “T” out of respect for those of us who are Transsexual and don’t feel connected to the more general term “Transgender”)community has been persecuted for decades while the White dominantly Christian groups have hounded us( This puts me in an odd place because I am White, Christian AND Persecuted..O.o). Its no wonder so many people hate or perhaps the better word is ‘feel oppressed by’ Catholics and Christians in our community.

We attack the Muslim faith because of their radicals even though many of them are peaceful. People WANT to see the bad in a group. You don’t see many attacks against the Christian faith for their own radicalism. Westboro Church anyone? Both Radical Muslims and Christians kill in the name of their God. Many Gay and Trans people have been killed because of this. Sad.

Many Gay couples are like hetero couples. There is a Nurturer in the relationship. Honestly I’m offended that he seems to imply that men need all the emotional support and Women don’t. This was either a written misstep or we can add “Sexist” to the other terms such as Bigot, Homophobic, Intolerant and Misguided.

You will continue to feel condemned because nature rejects your behavior and so does God.  And if you do not accept Jesus Christ as your personal savior and cease your homosexual behavior, you will die and spend and eternity in hell.  

So now we come to it. Here is the core of the issue. He assumes again that Dan feels condemned. Now I don’t know Dan personally though I would love to speak with him, but I wouldn’t be so bold to tell the man how he feels. Clearly, if he felt condemned he wouldn’t be doing this project. “Pastor” Lewis goes on to know the mind of God which God says in Isaiah 55:9:

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. Pretty damn bold to presume the mind of God. God goes on to say in the following passages:

Luke 6:37: “Do not judge, and you will not be judged. Do not condemn, and you will not be condemned. Forgive, and you will be forgiven.


Luke 6:41 “Why do you look at the speck of sawdust in your brother’s eye and pay no attention to the plank in your own eye?


John 8:7 When they kept on questioning him, he straightened up and said to them, “If any one of you is without sin, let him be the first to throw a stone at her.”


Romans 2:1 You, therefore, have no excuse, you who pass judgment on someone else, for at whatever point you judge the other, you are condemning yourself, because you who pass judgment do the same things.


Romans 14:10 You, then, why do you judge your brother? Or why do you look down on your brother? For we will all stand before God’s judgment seat.

1 Corinthians 4:5 Therefore judge nothing before the appointed time; wait till the Lord comes. He will bring to light what is hidden in darkness and will expose the motives of men’s hearts. At that time each will receive his praise from God.

Clearly God is commanding his people to not judge others. God loves all his children. We don’t know the whole story of Dan’s life or mine or anyone elses, including Mr. Lewis. Hate the Sin, love the sinner. The question that none of us can answer “Is Homosexuality, something you are born with and if so, are we sinners because the way we were born? I would like you to read the following article from Discover Magazine. The Article is called “The real story on Gay Genes”.

WARNING: THIS ARTICLE IS LONG.

Lastly………….

God wants to save you, but you must first want to be saved.  – G. Craige Lewis

In respect G.Craige Lewis, you have no idea what god wants and to claim anything else is to claim to know the mind of God. The bible tells us What he expects of us, but as you well know, Sir, the bible can be used to support itself or prove itself false depending on how you use what is said. I do know one passage that I would ask you to define. I ask you read the following:

Galatians 5:22 But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness,


Ephesians 4:32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

And my Favorite of all, the Bible teaches us of what love is. Who, I ask, among you are to say who feels this way about another? Would you, Mr. Lewis allow someone to tell YOU whom you love and do not love?

This is a letter written to the Church in Corinth by Paul around 55 A.D in which he appeals to all Christians on how to survive in a city that was full of Idolatry. It mostly begins with:

1 Corinthians 1:10: “I appeal to you, brothers, in the name of our Lord Jesus Christ, that all of you agree with one another so that there may be no divisions among you and that you may be perfectly united in mind and thought.”

Why do some hate us and others don’t? Who is right and who is wrong? How can some Christians believe that intolerance of ANY KIND is a slap in the face to Christ where some feel that killing, beating people up, down talking, insulting, bullying them or just plain meanness is what Christ wants? Accept Jesus as your lord and savior(By denouncing your possible born and innate sexual orientation) or you cannot be saved?  I ask you this simply question. If a L.G.B.T.T couple feels what is described below with all the warmth in their heart, how can God hate them when Love is what he is? Yes God is a vengeful God, but if love is pure, how can it be wrong?

1 Corinthians 13:1-13

If I speak in the tongues of men and angels,
but have not love,
I have become sounding brass or a tinkling symbol. 

And if I have prophecy and know all mysteries and all knowledge,
and if I have all faith so as to remove mountains,
but have not love, I am nothing. 

And if I dole out all my goods, and
if I deliver my body that I may boast
but have not love, nothing I am profited.

Love is long suffering,
love is kind,
it is not jealous,
love does not boast,
it is not inflated.

It is not discourteous,
it is not selfish,
it is not irritable,
it does not enumerate the evil.
It does not rejoice over the wrong, but rejoices in the truth  

It covers all things,
it has faith for all things,
it hopes in all things,
it endures in all things.

Love never falls in ruins;

If God is Love and this is the bibles definition of Love, how can God hate us and wish such brutalities upon us?

but whether prophecies, they will be abolished; or
tongues, they will cease; or
knowledge, it will be superseded.

For we know in part and we prophecy in part.

But when the perfect comes, the imperfect will be superseded.  

When I was an infant,
I spoke as an infant,
I reckoned as an infant;when I became [an adult],
I abolished the things of the infant. 

For now we see through a mirror in an enigma, but then face to face. Now I know in part, but then I shall know as also I was fully known. 

But now remains faith, hope, love, these three; but the greatest of these is love.

Finally he ends with this quote from Romans 1:24

Rom. 1:24 Wherefore God also gave them up to uncleanness through the lusts of their own hearts, to dishonour their own bodies between themselves: Who changed the truth of God into a lie, and worshipped and served the creature more than the Creator, who is blessed for ever. Amen.

I don’t understand who this is addressing. Who is Unclean? Lust? Lust is well know in the Hetero community as in the Homosexual community. It is a human condition, one of the sins of man. It is not limited to just one community.

Also, who are we worshiping again? I worship God, not some LGBT Idol. In fact, I’m not sure one exists. If he is refer to Homosexuals who have turned away from Christianity, can you not see WHY Mr. Lewis? Christians are suppose to be of Faith of fairness, equality, love and acceptance. Hate the sin, love the sinner. In Gay Marriage it is argued that Marriage is a Christian institution and should not be open to gays yet it is open to Muslims, Atheists, Agnostics, Buddhists, Scientologists, ANYONE who wants to get married can..unless you’re gay.

Pastor G. Lewis, you don’t know me and I don’t know you but from this post and the responses that followed you seem like you are misguiding your flock down a road that will cost you more then your Integrity. I am sad and sick to read this kind of propaganda delivered right to our door. You, Sir are free to feel and think as you wish and you are welcome to believe, just as I believe in what version of Christ you will. But do not send such messages to our community, to be seen by our families, our children with a message of “God hates you because your gay”.

It is words like these that have killed many Gay and Trans people. They tried NOT to be gay. Not to desire the same sex. Hell some even went to those places that try to “Cure” you of your homosexuality, but in the end, they were still the way they were. Unable to deal with the perception that God had abandoned them and did not love them though they tried, oh how they tried, they killed themselves. Is that a Victory for you, Sir? Is a kid throwing himself off a bridge gratifying for you Sir, all because he was gay? Was the denial of God’s love in all his children so hard to pass on?

Right or wrong, as Christians you have a duty to embrace the person, not the sin. If you believe us sinful, fine. Believe it. But don’t march against us because you feel its what God wants or in the name of God. Do it because its what YOU and people like YOU want. Yes, there are sinners in our community. Yes their are ALSO sinners in Yours as well. I can list the names of Pastors and Reverends who succumb to lust if you wish.

I leave you with this final quote and I urge any and all people in the LGBTTQQ community and those who sympathize with us to comment on this post and speak in a loud voice that we will not tolerate this kind of direct hate speech fired upon us by men whom are, in my opinion, hiding behind a mask of Righteousness. I leave this next quote from the Bible for you to decide for yourself its meaning. I use it as an example of how Mr. Lewis could use it to defend his point of view and we could use it to defend ours.

<< Luke 12 >>
New International Version

Warnings and Encouragements

1Meanwhile, when a crowd of many thousands had gathered, so that they were trampling on one another, Jesus began to speak first to his disciples, saying: “Be on your guard against the yeast of the Pharisees, which is hypocrisy. 2There is nothing concealed that will not be disclosed, or hidden that will not be made known. 3What you have said in the dark will be heard in the daylight, and what you have whispered in the ear in the inner rooms will be proclaimed from the roofs.

In other words, be careful what you say to others. There are no secrets.

4“I tell you, my friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body and after that can do no more. 5But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear him who, after the killing of the body, has power to throw you into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him. 6Are not five sparrows sold for two penniesa? Yet not one of them is forgotten by God. 7Indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Don’t be afraid; you are worth more than many sparrows.

8“I tell you, whoever acknowledges me before men, the Son of Man will also acknowledge him before the angels of God. 9But he who disowns me before men will be disowned before the angels of God. 10And everyone who speaks a word against the Son of Man will be forgiven, but anyone who blasphemes against the Holy Spirit will not be forgiven.

– LiVia


~ by LiVia on May 8, 2011.

2 Responses to “V for Vendetta: “V and LGBTT Community Vs. ExMinistries” in Defense of the “It gets better Project””

  1. I’ll be honest, I couldn’t read part of what that ‘Pastor’ wrote in his blog/site/cult-link/whatever. The more I read, the more pissed off I was. Especially with the few comments I read at the bottom. I swear, if they were given a dozen crates or so containing weapons. They’d just be another KKK. I’m Agnostic, I’m not blind to religion, considering my entire family is full of the ‘die hard’ christians. However, it aggravates me to see posts like theirs. I slowly lose hope in humanity. Everyone needs someone to stand on to make themselves seem higher in life. Marriage vs Civil Union? Marriage contains religion and all that, I’m assuming Civil Union doesnt. GTFOver it people. One of the commenters on the post said “okay fair enoug they we’re bullied in school, but now they’re not …they’re not in school now” Wake up dumbass. Okay that one person isn’t in school anymore. And you know what that means right? No? I’ll tell you, the few friends he/she had in the school are no more! Also, they don’t have the parental support anymore, if there was any. So now Sarah has to go through the world alone, taking bullshit from disgusting people like you because you’re too fucking insecure to allow someone different in your ranks. It’s a fucking church for crying out loud. Why do you go there? To pray and listen to worship right? No? Oh you just go there for the gossip on your neighbor and attempt to use the gained knowledge to elevate your own meager status in your miserable life?…Ehh let me just stop now before I start typing a 35 page essay. Normally I’d never leave a comment this long but that person’s site pissed me off so much. Also did you notice how the articles are about nothing except them creating drama over something that doesn’t even matter to them? Makes me wonder about the fancy “Coexist” bumper magnets everyone have on their cars…. Love you Livia.

  2. Thank you for posting this. At lot of times I don’t have to stomach for such ignorant hatred. When I do activism it is usually just a speaking or a testimonial. It’s post like this “exministry” that led to good people dying to soon. I was in love with a beautiful transwoman that later killed herself because of this type of hatred. I think about her all the time because she was the type of person that would give the shirt off her back even to her worse enemy. I wonder if the people that wrote that anti-lgbtq post would do the same. Probably not. Take care of yourself dear.
    Much love
    -Christina

Comments are closed.

 
